Newsroom Wins Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards

Louisville Public Media offices

David Modica

Louisville Public Media offices

The Kentucky Center for Investigative Reporting and WFPL were named Tuesday as recipients of Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.

KyCIR won the investigative reporting award in the small market radio category for “Only In Kentucky: Jailers Without Jails.” KyCIR’s R.G. Dunlop and WFPL’s Jacob Ryan collaborated on the investigation, which examined a nepotism-laced, but little-discussed, jailers system that costs Kentucky taxpayers approximately $2 million annually.

MurrowWFPL was honored with the best news series for Erica Peterson’s reports examining Germany’s energy transition—and its potential lessons for Kentucky. Peterson traveled to Germany for the five-part series, “From Bundestag to Bluegrass,” supported in part by a grant from the Heinrich Böll Foundation.

The Murrow awards, organized and bestowed by the Radio Television Digital News Association, highlight exemplary work in electronic journalism. WFPL and KyCIR competed against newsrooms in Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and West Virginia.

Regional award winners are now considered for the national Edward R. Murrow awards, which will be announced in June.

To see a complete list of 2016 Regional Edward Murrow Awards winners go to

Comments are closed.